MINUTES

THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE UNITED STATES BRIDGE FEDERATION

Monday, January 22, 2024 5:00 pm EST By Zoom call

Directors Present: Aaron Silverstein, Lynn Baker, Steve Beatty, Steve Garner, Eric Gettleman, Amber Lin, Tom Reynolds

Others Present: Jan Martel, Marty Harris, Joe Stokes, Suzi Subeck, Max Schireson, Mckenzie Myers, Julie Arbit

I. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by President Aaron Silverstein at 5:01 pm EST. The Board welcomed Amber Lin.

II. OFFICER ELECTION

- Tom nominated Aaron Silverstein for President. Steve G seconded; passed unanimously.
- Lynn nominated Steve Garner for Vice President. Tom seconded; passed unanimously.
- Aaron nominated Jan Martel for Secretary & Chief Operating Officer. Tom seconded; passed unanimously.
- Aaron nominated Mordecai (Max) Schireson for Chief Financial Officer. Lynn seconded; passed unanimously.
- Aaron nominated Jack Oest for Recorder. Lynn seconded; passed unanimously.

III. COMMITTEE PROPOSALS

The Board discussed the proposals for 2024 committee members. Aaron moved and Lynn seconded to approve the committee assignments and possible slight adjustments detailed in the attachment; passed unanimously.

Key updates discussed by the Board are as follows:

 Conventions committee is eliminated; Jan is working to form a committee to review System Summary Forms (SSF's) and Convention Cards. Jeff Aker is improving the explanation of what goes into SSF's.

- Bylaws Committee: Three primary responsibilities for the year establishing a disciplinary code, establishing procedures for appeals/charges, and reviewing resident membership requirements
- Appeals Committee: May be restructured slightly so that USBC staff can more easily coordinate in real-time at tournaments
- New Committee "Marketing": Purpose is to expand communications and outreach for online platforms (e.g. for watching tournaments), public relations, and fundraising.

IV. CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER REPORT

Max reported that some small reconciling is occurring with regard to the current audit. He is also working with the ACBL to increase the International Fund contributions from NABC entry fees, which haven't been changed in 20+ years. The increase will likely be incremental, beginning in the Fall 2024 NABC in Last Vegas and depending in part on attendance trends.

The Board discussed the status of USBF dues to the WBF. Suzi reported that Mexico elected to stay in Zone 2 after considering joining the Caribbean and Central American Bridge Federation.

V. Bylaws Discussion RE: Resident Members

The Board discussed the stringency for residency requirements in the WBF and USBF bylaws. The Board agrees that WBF requirements and residency approvals have not been consistent over time and thus there may be slight differences between the USBF and WBF requirements at a given time.

Aaron will reach out to Jan Kamras (WBF) with questions on procedures and timing for residency status issues for world championships.

Lynn is Chair of Bylaws Committee and will work on possibilities for amending the language to include provisions and procedures for residence matters where the USBF and WBF protocols may differ.

Jan will assemble a list of USBC players whose residence may be in question this year.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

Lynn moved, Tom seconded, to adjourn at 6:10pm EST; passed unanimously.

Attachment: 2024 USBF Committee assignments

Committee	2024 Members (First name listed = Chair)	Notes
Ethics Investigation	Dana Berkowitz Eugene Hung Roger Lee Chip Martel Steve Weinstein Jenny Wolpert	
Bylaws	Lynn Baker, Chair Eric Gettleman Marty Harris Jack Oest Josh Parker	
Nominating	Brian Platnick, Chair Amber Lin Debbie Rosenberg Aaron Silverstein Joe Stokes	Committee members serve for two years. Brian and Debbie are in their second year.
Elections	Lynn Baker, Chair Steve Garner Aaron Silverstein	
Finance	Max Schireson, Chair Eric Gettleman Amber Lin Jan Martel	
Junior	Joe Stokes, Chair Julie Arbit Alex Kolesnik Amber Lin Jan Martel McKenzie Myers Michael Rosenberg	
Credentials	Kevin Bathurst Cheri Bjerkan Bart Bramley Ira Chorush Josh Donn Marty Fleisher Alex Kolesnik	

	Sandra Rimstedt Debbie Rosenberg Kerri Sanborn Peggy Sutherlin Howard Weinstein Jenny Wolpert	
Stipend	Max Schireson, Chair Eric Gettleman Jan Martel Tom Reynolds Aaron Silverstein	
Appeals	Suzi Subeck, Chair	Slight restructuring planned
Tournament Planning	Jan Martel, Chair Steve Garner McKenzie Myers Tom Reynolds Suzi Subeck	
Tournament Hospitality	Jan Martel, Chair Julie Arbit Marie France Benoit Suzi Subeck	Possibly also Lisa Berkowitz, Kate Aker, and/or Martha Katz if they want to remain on
Vugraph	Jan Martel, Chair Rob Barrington Chris Wiegand	Primary role is now recruiting commentators due to switch to LoveBridge
Marketing	Mitch Dunitz, Chair Rob Barrington Tracey Bauer Cyrus Hettle Adam Kaplan Amber Lin Suzi Subeck Al Hollander & Jan Martel, staff	